Foundation Report to Library Board 1-15-09

At its December meeting, the foundation elected two new trustees, Glenda DuBoise and Jeff Chanay to three-year terms. These are proven library veterans, and we’re delighted to welcome them back into our ranks. New officers elected for 2009 are Lisa Stubbs, Chair; Steve Page, Vice Chair/Chair-Elect, and Carolyn Adams, Treasurer. We also bid a fond farewell to outgoing trustees Leo Taylor and Debbie Spees. Their contributions to our cause remain deeply appreciated.

Despite the grim economic climate, our end-of-year appeal produced a positive response. 362 individuals contributed over $30,000, and we are happy to note a significant number of new donors in that mix.

Working with Gina, Sherry Best, and Diana Friend, the foundation is helping to host a special ribbon cutting ceremony to officially welcome the 6th stained glass window to its rightful home in the library. The event will be held at 9:30 am on Wednesday, January 21, and I encourage all of you to attend. We will also be honoring the memory of Connie Menninger, whose leadership fueled the acquisition and restoration of these wonderful historic treasures.

In 2008, the foundation was the beneficiary of a generous pro bono donation of time and expertise from Jones Huyett Partners. Thanks to our trustee Michelle Cuevas Stubblefield, several focus group sessions formed the basis for an insightful report on new communications strategies for The Library Foundation to consider. We intend to integrate this information with key elements from the library’s newly adopted strategic plan. We count ourselves fortunate to have corporate partners like Jones Huyett, who so generously share their skills and insights with us.


Comments are closed.